Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Every time I go out, people I know from school keep asking me “When did you get back?” or saying “You’re here! I thought you were in [insert foreign country]!”

For serious. Where do people pick this stuff up? Lmao.

As for actually moving, it’s a constant question I have to deal with – especially with my family & college classmates.

With my classmates, it’s expected. A lot of them do want to move, that’s why they took Nursing. They see my situation as a no-brainer, when it’s really not. I like having an idea about where I’m headed & what it’ll be like. Sort of a plan, but flexible and changeable along the way. Lol. Ok, scratch that. Just a fairly good idea of what I want to do there.

But my family? Ugh. My older sister and most of my cousins are on my back about this all the freakin time. They want me to move someplace close (so they bug me better I guess? Or for easier vacation planning maybe), and they’ve even resorted to pointing out that some of my friends have moved. So far, only 2 are there, ok?

It seems easy (and compared to others, my situation is), but I’m still trying to figure out a lot of options – what I want to do, do I want to study something else, postgraduate opportunities, what NGOs are there to volunteer for (yes, this is very important if I want to like a place), who’s living close by.

Sure, moving abroad is a logical step for people in my profession, but I still have time. I don’t want to rush and end up miserable because it’s not what I expected. I also want to be prepared.

As in really prepared. Moving to a different country is a huge decision. And a life-changing one in more ways than just geographically. So I’ve made a list of things I need to do to better prepare:

  • I want work experience. Both in an office and in the hospital.
  • Learn to cook. I’ll probably end up staying with my sister or cousins for a few months and none of them are vegetarians. No one will be sympathetic if I go hungry because I refuse to eat the meat dishes. Lol
  • Practice driving an manual transmission car. Automatics are easy, so if I get better MT, I’ll survive with AT.
  • Get certified for IV insertion/IV therapy, Basic Life Support, ACLS.
  • Laundry skills need polishing. Learn to iron, too.
  • Learn to sew or mend. I’m serious. It seems like a practical/useful skill to have.
  • Car basics. If I’m gonna drive one… Another reason to embrace public transport.

I used to be really excited about going (I still do sometimes like when there’s a really good game happening in Chicago), but then I realized why the hell would I want to leave so quickly?

My friends are here. The NGOs I volunteer for are here. We have someone that does our laundry at home, someone to cook for me, someone to clean up.

Upside of leaving though: Independence!

Also, I love the train systems & reliability of public transport in other countries. I’ll get to travel more. I’ll get to check off a lot of items off my Bucket List. There are a lot more gadgets that are available there than they are here and at a cheaper price, too (my techie side is in raptures over the idea).

So yeah, there are ups and downs, but I’ll stay put for now.

